Nim Patel, CEF's Chief Strategy Officer, Named to Community Food Access Program Inaugural Grant Advisory Committee

April 12, 2023
Contact: Olga Robak,, 720-428-0441 

Community Food Access Program Seats Inaugural Grant Advisory Committee Members

Broomfield, Colo. — Colorado Commissioner of Agriculture Kate Greenberg has approved the selection of six inaugural members to serve on the Community Food Access Grant Advisory Committee that will help establish rules on how to disburse approximately $6 million in grants to lower prices for and increase access to healthy food in underserved areas of the state by supporting small food retailers and small family farms.

Committee members collectively bring knowledge of operating small retail stores, farming, grantmaking, supporting small businesses, working with SNAP EBT systems, and in some cases, using SNAP themselves,” said Mickey Davis, Community Food Access program manager. “We are confident this committee will bring the perspectives necessary to make an impactful grant program.”

The goal of the Community Food Access program is to help small food retailers and small family farms impacted by COVID-19 purchase equipment or reduce the cost of providing access to healthy food in low income, low access neighborhoods and underserved areas of the state. The Grant Advisory Committee will help develop grant materials, qualifying criteria, and assist in the award process of approximately $6 million in grants. 

The selected committee members represent both statewide service areas and smaller communities.
“I feel strongly that we each have the responsibility to contribute, as we can, to improving the environment of opportunity and equity for all in our communities. The food system is a foundational prerequisite to these efforts,” said Dean Vidal, a farmer in Southwest Colorado, and newly appointed committee member. “CDA’s program and the enabling legislation’s intent offer real leverage for Colorado communities. I’m excited to be a part of helping our communities prosper.”

The committee members are:
•    Nim Patel, Colorado Enterprise Fund
•    Dean Vidal, Farmer, La Plata Food Equity Coalition
•    Sara Mayer, Rocky Mountain Farmers Union
•    Andrea Crary, Department of Local Affairs (DOLA), Colorado Resiliency Office
•    Megan Harris, Hunt or Gather Buying Club
•    Shaina Knight, Food Bank of the Rockies
More information on the Advisory Committee and the Community Food Access Program can be found on CDA’s website and in House Bill 22-1380

Go Back